ri Blog

Momentous Night As Ferguson Marine Picks Up Two Awards At Scottish Renewables Young Professionals Green Energy Awards

Above: The winners from the fifth Young Professionals Green Energy Awards

Nine up-and-coming green energy stars have been honoured at the 2019 Young Professionals Green Energy Awards last night (May 30) with Ferguson Marine Engineering walking away with two awards.

Shane Hand, from Ferguson Marine Engineering in Port Glasgow, scooped the Innovator Award for his work on Hyseas III, the world’s first hydrogen fuel cell ferry powered entirely by fuel from renewable sources. 

Shane's colleague, Andrew Herdman, took home the Engineer Award in what was a fantastic night recognising the talent within the Inverclyde engineering sector. 

Other winners include Hazel Smith from the University of Strathclyde, whose work on monitoring offshore wind construction noise is already being implemented by Scotland’s £511-million-a-year industry.

She joins eight others in receiving accolades at the Young Professionals Green Energy Awards, held at the Grand Central Hotel in Glasgow.

Recognition also went to Daniel Coles from Simec Atlantis Energy, who won the Analyst Award for his work in optimising Meygen: the largest tidal power station in the world. Its turbines now produce 20% more energy thanks to Daniel’s efforts.

The University of Strathclyde’s Hannah Houston took home the Judges Award for her development of a pioneering interactive Wind Energy Project, which brought together students from Glasgow, Strathclyde and Caledonian universities to consider all aspects wind farm planning.

The winners were selected from a shortlist of 39.

Claire Mack, Chief Executive of Scottish Renewables, the industry body which organises the awards, said:

“Once again the Young Professionals Green Energy Awards bring the renewables industry together to recognise the contributions by its upcoming leaders.

“The standard of talent showcased by all of our shortlisted entrants is genuinely inspiring.

“The skills, professionalism and passion shown by tonight’s winners demonstrate their commitment to their careers. I encourage them to maintain the same determination as they grow and develop to shape the future of the renewables industry.”

ScottishPower Renewables was the headline sponsor of the 2019 Young Professionals Green Energy Awards.

Jonathan Cole, Managing Director of Iberdrola’s Global Offshore Wind Business said:

“The level of talent showcased at the Young Professionals Green Energy Awards this year has been exceptional, and I’d like to pass my congratulations on to all of the worthy winners.

“Renewable energy has a vital role to play in the decarbonisation of our country and in particular, achieving the bold target of Net Zero. With the talent that has been on show this evening, I’m proud to say that the future of our industry is in very safe hands.”  

Guests also heard from finalist Blair Cruickshank from ScottishPower Renewables, who was invited to speak about his role in setting up an LGBT+ network and the positive impact this has had in supporting his colleagues in the workplace. 

Next year’s Young Professionals Green Energy Awards will feature a new category, the Culture Change Award, which will give recognition to people who change the culture of their organisation for the better.

The winners of the 2019 Young Professionals Green Energy Awards will go on to compete for the Young and Inspiring Award at the Scottish Green Energy Awards, which are in Edinburgh on December 5.

The full list of nominees and winners:

ACADEMIC AWARD - Sponsored by Energy Technology Partnership

  • Hazel Smith, University of Strathclyde - WINNER
  • Maja Persson, University of Edinburgh
  • Muhammad Imran Khan, Heriot-Watt University
  • Oliver Tulloch, University of Strathclyde


  • Alvaro Marques Dabouza, ScottishPower Renewables
  • Catrin Sutherland, European Marine Energy Centre
  • Eibhlin Lee, Orkney Islands Council - WINNER
  • Gustavo Sánchez, ScottishPower Renewables
  • Dr Helen Wade, Scottish Natural Heritage
  • Nicky Cowan, Star Renewable Energy


  • Daniel Coles, SIMEC Atlantis Energy - WINNER
  • Finlay Burns, innogy Renewables UK 
  • Jennifer Ross, SSE
  • Dr Maizura Mokhtar, SP Energy Networks & Heriot-Watt University
  • Owen Bonini, Atkins Global

APPRENTICE AWARDSponsored by Centre for Work-based Learning in Scotland

  • Ethan Glencross, Renewable Parts - WINNER
  • Tayler Paterson, DM Fabrication


  • Andrew Herdman, Ferguson Marine Engineering - WINNER
  • Brett Rowlandson, SIMEC Atlantis Energy
  • Craig Stout, ORE Catapult
  • Milana Ple?aš, SP Energy Networks 


  • Harry Booth, Locogen
  • Robert Ogden, The Renewable Exchange 
  • Shane Hand, Ferguson Marine Engineering - WINNER
  • Taylor McKenzie, ScottishPower Renewables 


  • Adele Brownlie, Moray East offshore windfarm - WINNER
  • Blair Cruikshank, ScottishPower Renewables
  • Daniela Fitzpatrick, ScottishPower Renewables
  • Kieran Shafiq Ali, Arcus Consultancy Services
  • Robert Ogden, The Renewable Exchange


  • Chris Palmer, EDF Renewables
  • Michael Forbes, Renewable Parts
  • Ross Cottam, Moray East offshore windfarm - WINNER
  • Ryan Doull, Orbital Marine Power

JUDGES AWARD - Sponsored by ScottishPower Renewables

  • Brett Rowlandson, SIMEC Atlantis Energy
  • Blair Cruikshank, ScottishPower Renewables
  • Hannah Houston, University of Strathclyde - WINNER
  • Dr Maizura Mokhtar, SP Energy Networks & Heriot-Watt University
  • Michael Forbes, Renewable Parts

Published 31 May 2019